Commons and Town Greens Sub-Committee

Composition and role

The Sub-Committee shall be established by the Regulatory Committee and comprise eleven County Councillors to authorise appropriate alterations to the Registers of Common land and Town Greens.

Meetings are open to the public but they may be excluded where information of an exempt or confidential nature is being discussed – see Access to Information Procedure Rules set out at Appendix 'H' to this Constitution.

Terms of Reference

The Committee shall carry out the following functions:

- To exercise the Council's powers under the Commons Registration (New Land) Regulations 1969 to register common land or town or village greens (except where the power is to be exercised solely for the purpose of giving effect to an exchange of land by an order under Section 19(3) or Schedule 3 of the Acquisition of Land Act 1981, or an order under Section 147 of the Inclosure Act 1845).
- 2. To make recommendations to the Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Environment and Planning on matters under the Commons Registration Act 1965 as amended and Regulations thereunder where responsibility lies with the Cabinet.
- 3. To amend the register in respect of rights of common under Regulation 29 of the Commons Registration (General) Regulations 1966, namely to apportion, vary, extinguish, release or transfer a right of common.
- 4. To exercise the duties powers and functions of the County Council as Registration Authority under Part 1 Commons Act 2006.